Filed Under: Things I Never Thought I’d Complain About While Losing Weight and Getting Fit.

Posted: April 15, 2015 in Rambling, Updating
Tags: , ,

So, don’t get me wrong here. I’m really impressed with what my body is doing.

I have arm muscles. Real, defined muscles in there. It was weird, I have never had arm muscles before. I was on the fly machine and noticed this line in my arm when I pulled in. Showed it to Seth and he looked at me like I was nuts, said simply that it was muscle definition. Still look at it in the mirror because it’s new.

Same with my ass muscles. Sitting feels different since I’ve started doing weighted squats and lunges. Do you have any idea how weird it is to have your butt feel foreign when you sit down. 30 some odd years its felt one way and now it’s different… So weird.

But, the one thing that is the hardest for me to wrap my mind around? I am hungry. All the time. The number on the scale is going down, the number on the weights I’m lifting are going up, and I’m always hungry. I mean it. I’m either eating or looking for something to eat.

Seriously. Take the other day for example:

  • Breakfast – 2 eggs, three turkey sausage patties, 1/2 cup oatmeal w/ 1/4 cup blueberries and 2-3oz almond milk and 12oz coffee w/ 3-4oz almond milk
  • Morning Snack – 16oz protein shake
  • Lunch – 6oz chicken breast, 2c steamed green beans
  • Afternoon Snack – 3 chicken tenders w/ 1/4c nacho cheese sauce (don’t judge)
  • Post Workout Snack – 4oz tuna salad made w/ olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper, 2 slices Dave’s Killer Bread 21 Grain
  • Dinner – 20oz grilled steak, 2c steamed broccoli, 3-4c green salad w/ veggies dressed w/ olive oil, lime juice salt and pepper
  • Evening Snack – 8oz protein shake

Even with all that, I lay in bed that night and realized I was still hungry.

I’m so very tired of eating and always looking for food…. Even as I sit here and type this, having just inhaled about three chicken breasts and some veggies, not 10 minutes ago, I’m hungry and going through the mental catalog of what’s in the house for easy to eat food.

Everyone I talk to who lifts and is fit and all my research and reading on lifting for health says this is totally normal. That it’s my muscles using what it needs and the calorie burn from my exercising that is causing a HUGE deficit. It makes total sense, it really does, it’s just weird and I’m wondering if I’m ever going to get used to it.

But for now, off to find food, or a protein shake…..

Leave a Reply

